top of page

Six Ways to Prepare for Fieldwork

There are many fields of research where fieldwork is well known, for example anthropology, geology, biology, and archaeology. It is also well-known in sociology, to which I majored in for my bachelors degree. However, out of all the courses I took on methodology, statistics, and research, I do not remember any of them distinctly telling me how to prepare for fieldwork. Of course, in my reading and basic understanding, plus my limited experience doing research, I have understood what I needed to do for fieldwork and ultimately how to prepare for it as a result, but there are always things that are missing.

For instance, it rains in New Zealand all the time during the winter and I never appropriately, or consciously either, prepared for that. I brought a wind breaker, but I do not have an umbrella or shoes that are good for the puddles and rain. This simple realization prompted me to research how to prepare for fieldwork. I figured I would report my findings here. This will not work for everyone in every discipline, as it is geared towards my field research, but there may be parts that reflect all fieldwork.

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, it is any "work done in the field to gain practical experience and knowledge through firsthand observation." This is usually done by students working towards a degree, but it is also the gathering of "data through the interviewing and observation of subjects in the field." However, it is also can detail observing inanimate objects within a setting that is not a laboratory or in one's office. It doesn't necessarily have to deal with the outside environment and is usually, but not always, dictated by the methods one uses.

1. All things will come in time

One of the pieces of advice I gathered in my research is to be patient. Not everything will go smoothly as planned and things will pop up that you were not accounting for. I have encountered this when I first got to New Zealand. People did not want to just participate in research with some unknown person; I had to forge relationships, and that takes time.

Take time to gather your footing. Walk around and scope out the place. Being there is different than reading about it. Is there anything that was left out in your research? Write these differences down. In social science, these may be factors in how social actors react to their environment, or they may not. In time you will see whether this is the case or not.

If you have time, and I would plan to allow myself time, try to develop your research more once getting to your field. Trying to force answers because you believe you do not have the time can end up hurting you and your research. By being patient and letting things come to you, you can do your research more effectively.

2. Network with everyone

Things will get in the way but you also need to forge those relationships with people in order to create that rapport with the individuals you may be studying or could help you along your fieldwork journey. Don't be afraid to say hello to people working in the same field as you and make friends when you can. They may know something you do not, and a simple conversation can make your life so much easier. Remember, fieldwork "is not just about data collection; it’s about experiences and moments of just ‘being’ in the field, speaking to people and learning about the place you are in" (Wallin 2014).

For instance, I was trying to talk to police officers about the enforcement of bylaws, but when I talked to the city employees at the information desk as well as the police headquarters, none of them seemed to have any idea what I was talking about or where I could get the proper information. They did not help me in finding the correct people because we were not communicating. It was not until I was talking to another person, in a different field of work, that they were able to tell me the information I needed. I received further information from people on the frontlines, people that, on first glance, wouldn't be thought to have the information needed.

Stick to your plan but be open and talk to others just in case your initial secondary research left some important details out. You can gain some friendships during your fieldwork and some valuable information that can better shape your research.

3. Plan, plan, plan

It is always better to plan what you are going to do rather than doing it and realizing you have to go back and do it again, or worse cannot go back at all. This is important in my case. I leave New Zealand for Canada and is expensive to come back, so I have to make sure I have everything before I go.

Organize your methods of what you want to study and how you want to study it. What are your independent variables? Your dependent variables? Keep in mind there are always confounding variables in social science and you should either attempt to control them or note them as factors in your research. Understanding these variables will guide you in developing your methods. Write down each step of your methods and memorize them.

Understand that things in the field never go the way you want them to. I did an interview by the side of a busy road, under a couple of trees that had many nests of birds. Not only did I have to contend with the sound, I had to sit there while dodging bird droppings (maybe I exaggerate a bit). Transcribing that interview will be difficult on the ears.

Have secondary plans on how you will get things completed. This is pivotal to any good fieldwork plan. Think what you want to study and how that could go wrong. Plan for those instances. This is not only a good practice for your research, but it is good to plan for your own safety. It is no fun getting lost or intimidated by a local.

4. Conduct pilot tests

Once you have planned how you will measure your independent variables, you will be ready to go out into the field. Just wait, you shouldn't go out yet. It is best to practice and conduct pilot tests to make sure that you are testing what you want and that you do not nervously forget how to implement your methods.

This is relatively simple, but you may need a friend to help you (see networking can come in handy). If you are conducting interviews, then practice what you are going to say and any followup questions you may need to say. During interviews it is important to remember what variables you are studying. That way you can make clarifying and probing questions that are relevant to your study. This is especially important for unstructured or semi-structured interviews.

Pilot tests do not have to be difficult and it sure eases the researcher into the research territory. Regardless if you are dealing with a method that is novel or in a different context, completing a pilot test can work out any kinks or holes within the methodology you have chosen.

5. Keep a workbook and put it on a cloud

I keep a workbook with all of my notes in there. It is handy because I do not have to rely on my memory when visually inspecting my environment during my field visits. Besides, all experienced researchers are doing it. It is important to label everything and keep things in an organized manner. Your thoughts do not have to make sense, but it should when you are reading it months later, in a caffeine-induced stupor trying to analyze your findings.

However, it can be devastating to lose your notebook with all of your notes in it, so make sure you back it up digitally whenever you get the chance, by putting it on a cloud service. This can be done by simply taking pictures of each page or, if you are someone with time, you can scan each page, and uploading it (internet needed).

I also have a huge folder with documents and journal articles, all organized by subject, downloaded to my computer. This helps to keep my writing compartmentalized and to the point (something I struggle with). This will help you to keep your photographs, interviews, and personal socio-political ramblings on culture organized. But, as I said before, everything can be misplaced or lost. There is nothing more disappointing than writing down all of your research notes on your computer and having it crash. I had all of my notes on a flash drive and my computer crashed, ultimately crashing my memory stick with it. I was not worried because I was doing research for this article and I backed up my notes on a cloud service the night before.

6. Have fun

But don't let my ominous (?) warnings make you feel field work will be tedious and boring. Being patient and meeting new people will always be fun and can be a teaching moment for you personally. You will become enriched far beyond just staying in a lab or classroom (sorry scientists). Plan some days where you can get out to try new things. Don't do things that you can do at home, unless there is a specific cultural feeling to it. Try new foods and immerse yourself in the culture. Whether you are 10 miles from home or 10 000 miles in a different country, there are qualitative differences that you can embrace. Grow from this opportunity, your future self will thank you.

I have provided my experience and advice on what would accurately prepare someone to work in the field as well as how to manage it once you are there. If I have missed something or am wrong on one of my points, I would be more than happy to hear from you. Either comment on this page or contact me.

Bibliography

Jessika Tremblay. April 2014. 10 Tips for Surviving Anthropological Research.

World Health Organization. 1993. "Preparations for field work." How to Investigate Drug Use in Health Facilities: Selected Drug Use Indicators.

Linda Murray. April 2013. PhD: the extreme fieldwork edition.

Susan Walsh. August 2015. Preparing for Fieldwork.

Recent Posts
Search By Category
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
RSS Feed
bottom of page