top of page

Day 45 - In Love with Difficulties

Today I went to the store to go for my weekly shopping and among my perusal in the leafy section of the vegetable section, I found some alfalfa sprouts. Now this hardly seems important enough to place in a blog, but it is. It is important to me because I like them in my sandwiches, and I could not find them anywhere in Saskatchewan. There were in almost ever store in Alberta, so I always had a ready supply.

See the thing is, alfalfa sprouts are way better than lettuce. Although they are small, they have a stronger taste than normal lettuce. This is why I am in love.

On this day it was discovered that my computer was acting up. In order to get it fixed, apparently, would be to reset it to factory settings. This was not a huge issue, I thought, because I keep all of my important documents on a SD card, so nothing of importance would be lost. At least that is what I thought.

After resetting my computer I realized that Microsoft Word and accompanying programs were deleted from my computer. That means, because I don't have any backups here, I do not have any excel or word programs on my computer (tablet). This is upsetting, but I can still work on things from the computer in the office provided by the University. This is not the difficulty though.

The difficulty I am talking about is that my memory stick is not working now. Whenever I plug it in, no matter which computer I plug it in on, it tells me that I simply need to format the disk for it to work. The issue with formatting the disk is that is where I kept my entire thesis documents, including all of my articles. In total, that means that I cannot access a total of over 300 documents. On one hand I do not have access to that memory stick anymore. On the other hand at least this happened to me at the early stages of my research rather than at the end. However, I was intelligent enough to read and listen to other people and their struggles with relying on technology.

Based on this understanding of other people's struggles, I was able to copy my entire thesis work onto Dropbox. The last time I did this was last night, so I only lost a bit of work, nothing that I couldn't do again. What makes me disappointed, though, is that I never backed up the rest of the information on the memory stick. Priorities though. I saved what I needed most and the rest was just old information that I did not necessarily need.

Other than that, life is normal and nothing exciting is happening lately. I plan on watching a professional rugby match before I go. Interesting thing, and perhaps it is because I am influenced by the local media, I found myself cheering for New Zealand when watching the Olympics, when Canada isn't competing that is.

Recent Posts
Search By Category
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
RSS Feed
bottom of page